I’ll Never Shampoo My Hair Again, EVER. (Seriously!)

 
Image
(It had been 6 weeks since I shampooed my hair when I took this picture!)
 
This past year I have been in the process of weeding out the chemicals in my life. The kind of unnecessary chemicals that are in cleaning products, skincare, hair care, makeup, non-organic produce, and so forth. I’ve chosen to do this partially to lessen my carbon footprint, and mostly for my personal health and well-being. Not to mention it’s cheaper!
 
Along the way I stopped using shampoo and conditioner. This may sound weird for some, or even “gross”, but I swear to you that it isn’t. I’m excited enough about it that I want to write a post to explain why you might want to give it a try too!
 
I came across this concept, that has been known as the “No Poo” movement, while reading online. I don’t personally like to call it that- I can’t get past the fact that poo is usually a nickname for poop, and I’m totally not into that when we’re talking about my hair. In any case, those who go “No Poo” do actually still wash their hair. We actually still condition it too. And the way we do it is actually way, way better for your hair.
 
So why not shampoo?
 
First of all, shampoo is a detergent, meaning it strips your hair completely of its natural oils. While none of us want yucky, greasy hair, stripping the oils away completely is actually counter-productive. Your scalp recognizes that all the oils are gone, and starts to pump out extra. This is why those of you who shower and wash your hair every day actually NEED to wash your hair every day: because your hair legitimately gets greasy faster than the hair of those who don’t wash their hair every day! You’ve taught it to do this. (You skin actually does this too, while we’re on the topic. This is why moisturizing after washing your face is a good idea- your skin will want to pump out extra oil if you leave it with that tight, dry feeling. And we know that’s definitely no good for acne!)
 
Shampoo also contains many hazardous chemicals, including fragrances, which are usually carcinogenic (aka cancer-causing) and not so friendly to your lungs when you take a whiff, DMDM hydantoin (allergy aggravator), and 1,4-dioxane (which The Environmental Protection Agency has labeled as a human carcinogen as well). Not to mention what they add in each different variety.
 
Also, it’s expensive! Depending on what brand you buy, what type of hair you have, and what scent you like, you might end up paying anywhere from $8-$20 every month or two. That may seem like a normal expense, but what if it’s not necessary? You could save a lot!
 
How do I get my hair clean, then?
 
That’s the best part. Baking soda! Stick with me here- it works, you guys. I had a few concerns when I wanted to try washing my hair with baking soda, too. The first is that I thought I was going to need A LOT of baking soda to wash my hair as well as shampoo. The second was whether or not it was even going to work as well as shampoo anyway. I had tried putting things like cornstarch and dry shampoo in my hair on off-days when it started getting greasy, and while it worked, it never cleaned my hair from that greasy feeling like shampoo did.
 
To my happy surprise, I didn’t need that much baking soda to do the trick, and yes, it cleaned my hair just as well as shampoo did. It didn’t have the nice scent like shampoo or lather into bubbles, but I’d gladly sacrifice that for the health and cost benefits.
 
Baking soda also doesn’t strip the oils completely from your hair, even though It totally feels like it does. No oily-ness in sight. That might sound like a half-ass job at washing your hair, but the best part is, it’s actually better. I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but when you stop stripping your hair’s natural oils away completely, you won’t get greasy as often!  Your hair learns to stop pumping out extra oil all the time, and your hair gets LESS greasy the MORE you substitute baking soda for shampoo
 
What about conditioner?
 
This is the other half of the equation, and equally exciting! I don’t use conditioner either- and let me tell you what, my hair is actually stronger, shinier, and less dry & brittle thanks to apple cider vinegar and raw (unrefined) coconut oil. A couple tablespoons of ACV in a big glass of water is all you need to condition your hair. People like to use it as a “rinse”, but I like to make sure that my dry ends get thoroughly moisturized before anything else, so I dip them in the cup and let them soak for a minute before dumping all over the rest of my hair. Then I let it sit for a few minutes while I do something else, like wash my face, and rinse it off. It does smell vinegar-y, but that smell goes away mostly after rinsing and ultimately, completely after drying.
 
So why ACV? Most importantly, it has a natural pH of 4.25-5.0 when undiluted. Your hair’s natural, healthy pH likes to be somewhere similar (see the table below), or just slightly more alkaline than that. Water’s pH is a neutral 7.0, and a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar is all it takes for that water to become the perfect pH for your hair
 
Image
 
The amazing part about this is that when your hair is at a healthy pH level, it can function correctly. The cuticle is naturally smooth and seals itself against further chemical and heat damage. You don’t need to coat your hair shaft with chemicals to protect it from these things- with apple cider vinegar, your hair can do that by itself! It also helps the pH of your scalp (see “skin” in the graph above)- eliminating dandruff, along with clearing away product buildup from mousses, gels, and hairspray, AND rinses off whatever leftover dirt and oil is still there. 
 
Normal conditioners that you buy at the store don’t account for your hair’s pH at all. Instead, they use oils and silicone to make it feel smooth and temporarily help make the cuticle less rough. These are not necessarily good for your hair, despite how they make it feel, and regardless of what the packaging says, they cannot actually penetrate the shaft and nourish your hair on the inside. In fact, it was just a couple decades ago that hair conditioner’s main ingredient was sheep sebum. Sebum- you know, like the stuff your shampoo just scrubbed away?
 
Coconut oil, however, DOES penetrate your skin and hair, nourishing them both from the inside. This is due to two different components of unrefined coconut oil, which “has a ‘medium chain’ of 12 carbon atoms but the size of the molecule is only part of the puzzle. The shape of the molecule is also important. Coconut oil is highly saturated which means the carbon atoms are “filled up” with hydrogen atoms. In addition, the molecule is a straight chain with no branching.  Most oil is unsaturated (not all the carbons are ‘filled up’ and the molecule is branched.) This difference in configuration allows the coconut oil molecules to slip in between the inter-cellular spaces in the hair’s cuticle layer so it can penetrate into the cortex. …Most other oils do not have this ability. None of the other oils penetrate like coconut oil, but all of them can help lubricate hair. However, since they do not penetrate, they need to be used in a leave on product like a hairdressing. When delivered from a conditioner or other rinse off product, they will simply go down the drain.” *Please note that unrefined, or raw, coconut oil is the only kind of coconut oil with these special medium-chain fatty acids. Refined has been altered to withstand higher heats, and therefore is just pure saturated fat- which cannot penetrate into your hair or skin.
 
Research shows that hair can absorb around 15% of its weight in coconut oil in an hour. An overnight soaking oil (six hours) increases absorption to around 20% or 25%!
 
I only have two qualms with this new type of conditioning: 
 
1) Apple cider vinegar doesn’t leave your hair silky-smooth when you get out of the shower. It will be when it dries (much smoother than normal, in fact), but the lack of that yucky, plastic-y silicone in your hair means that you have no extra coat of silky gunk on top of your hair. This is a good thing, but it does make for some rougher-feeling wet hair. A key tip here is to make sure your hair is brushed, combed, and totally de-tangled (this is especially important for long hair like mine!) BEFORE showering, so you don’t tangle it up while it’s wet. I can get past that knowing that what I’m doing is actually better for it, though! 
2) With coconut oil it is impossible to get out of your hair with just the baking soda. You must use soap of some kind to effectively wash it all… but I think that once a week or a few times a month, I’m okay with that for the deep-conditioning I get from the coconut oil. I just try to use products that contain natural ingredients (like Dr. Bonner’s)!
 
Measurements and tips: You can use regular white distilled vinegar, especially if you’re blonde, but it’s significantly more acidic, so the standard is 1 teaspoon per cup (8 oz) of water. Apple cider vinegar takes 1-2 tablespoons per cup (8 oz) of water. ACV rinses are safe for color treated hair- mine is part colored, part natural (I’m growing the color out) and it’s worked beautifully on both. I use anywhere from 1/3-1/2 cup of baking soda for a wash, and all you need to do is rub it right into your hair and scalp! Concentrate on the scalp area more than anything, as it’s the main area that needs clarifying. You can make a paste ahead of time, but it’s really unnecessary because when you put dry baking soda on wet hair, it has the same effect anyway.
 
 
Image
My hair after 8 weeks with this treatment! (It’s messy because I just took it down from a top-knot, but it’s strong, shiny, healthy, and grease-free!)
 
 
Reference: 
-Quantitative measurement of the penetration of coconut oil into human hair using radio-labeled coconut oil. JSCC, 2012, Vol 63.

355 thoughts on “I’ll Never Shampoo My Hair Again, EVER. (Seriously!)

  1. lynn

    Ok this is what i want to know. Do you put the baking soda on dry or wet hair?. Then im assuming you wash it out after a few minutes. It could be interedting to try. I have fine limp hair and i wash it everyday. I have heard that the asv os awsome for hair . Never have used it before but willing to use it as a conditioner as any of those conditioners really make my hair limp. I hope it all goes well with everyone. Thankyou for the info.

    Reply
  2. Vikki

    Hi! I tried this for about 6 months and LOVED the results! I was only cleaning my hair every 3-4 days. BUT, the first time I got into a pool, it completely destroyed the balance I had so patiently worked for, and I found it impossible to get it back. My question for you is, how often do you cleanse this way? I’d like to give it a shot again, and I’m wondering if I would have more success if I just did it more often.
    I also wanted to mention that I kept essential oils (I really liked grapefruit) next to the ACV in the bathroom and added about 5-6 drops to my 1-2 tbsp of vinegar before getting into the shower (I just added water to my cup IN the shower), and it almost completely masked the smell of vinegar while my hair was drying.

    Reply
    1. Kriste Lane

      Try using conditioner in your hair ONLY before you get in the pool. I understand that the point is to get rid of the need for chemicals and conditioners… But if you get your hair wet and put conditioner in it before you get in the pool it help protect it.

      Reply
  3. danmalara

    Thanks for sharing your specifics. It’s nice to hear I’m not alone! I’ve been using baking soda in water for my hair AND as a body scrub for just over 3 years now! I occasionally use diluted lemon juice to achieve a similar effect (I think) as you do with the AVC. Also, I’ve just begun using coconut oil, and agree that once a month or so would be appropriate.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: I’ve Gone NO POO! Day 1 | kimtrovert

  5. nathanbuchanan

    I haven’t washed my hair in a year. I rinse it thoroughly with pretty hot water and it stays really nice! Its not greasy at all and I don’t use any other “product” in it. My hair does what I want it to do all on its own. To style it I comb it while its still wet into the basic direction I want it to lay and it loosens up into position while it drys on its own. Im a guy so it will be different for girls with longer hair. Mine is about 5 Inches long on top so its fairly long for a guy.
    If it does start getting a bit greasy I just use the apple cider vinegar in it but baking soda works too.

    Reply
  6. kevinxerxes

    I am blonde with medium-length hair and a beard. Since I like to shampoo both simultaneously, do you think that the baking soda/white vinegar treatment method would produce a significant result for coarser beard hair as well as for my finer scalp hair? I find myself switching beard/facial cleansers quite often due to dissatisfaction.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Cleanse Week #2! (and natural hair treatments) | TABLE & POUND

  8. Pingback: Hersday Thursday – Healthy Hair | Perpetual Musings

  9. Stephanie Bailey Foehl

    I just started this and it went great the first day or 2. Now after I wash and blow dry it is definitely greasy. Is this normal as my hair readjusts? Am I doing something wrong? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!!

    Reply
    1. J

      I’ve not tried this, but my friend did. She has thick, lovely, long hair. When she first started this, her hair got greasy, but after a few weeks it was perfectly gorgeous! I mean, like, seriously healthy looking! It’s been about 3 years since she last washed her hair with shampoo, and it looks beautiful. :)

      Reply
    2. Brittani89

      I am experiencing it still. Today is day 19 for me. I’ve been having to wear my hair in pony tails so you can’t tell it’s greasy. I’m going to give it awhile longer because I know it might still be transitioning, it’s very discouraging though.

      Reply
      1. H

        I’ve been washing in diluted baking soda and conditioning in diluted vinegar for 6 months. Overall, I am pleased with the effect (I’ve liked it enough to continue it all this time); however, I’ll get the immediate greasy feeling if I try to blow dry it. This has been really frustrating to me too, since I’m not always in a position or wanting to let it air dry.

  10. Scott

    Would you also address your generl food intake if that isn’t too personal. I know it makes an incredible difference as well. Curious… Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  11. Brittani89

    I’ve been doing this for 18 days and have yet to be able to wear my hair not in a braid or pony tail because of how greasy/oily it is. Any suggestions?

    Reply
  12. Huri Kouzouyan

    I can attest to the validity of this…I haven’t used shampoo for about 6 years now. I do ACV 2-3 times a week and just plain old hot water the rest of the week. My hair is curly and likes to get tangled up ever couple of days…but the ACV takes care of detangling my hair and i don’t even comb! I just run my fingers through! My hair is definitely more healthy since i ditched the shampoo and hair products like gel/hairspray. I noticed that I actually needed the product to make my hair feel fuller after the shampoo stripped all the oils and left it limp and dry. ugh. So glad I dumped all that and never looked back!

    Reply
  13. Sarah

    Do you do this for who I assume is your daughter in the picture next to you as well. And if so does their hair need a different mixture ratio?

    Reply
  14. Naomi Coy

    That’s awesome that you are aware and avoiding toxic chemicals. I strongly suggest to ALWAYS read the ingredient labels on personal care products. There is literally little to no oversight from the government. Companies can label their products as “all natural”, “non toxic”, “dermatologist approved” and “organic” and not even be true at all (that’s called GREENWASHING)!! It’s ALL about the ingredients, the rest is just marketing! With that said, I encourage you to check out Ava Anderson Non Toxic. We educate on this toxic issue and offer a wide range of truly safe products. Put our ingredients to the test! We disclose EVERY ingredient! http://www.AvaAndersonNonToxic.com/NaomiCoy

    Reply
  15. I have better hair than most Girls.

    GREASE is a natural protectant for hair. The oils create a barrier to protect your hair. This grease-free business was just a socially stereotypical reinforcement marketing scheme to get you to CONSTANTLY buy $hampoo. Continuously washing the hair excessively will make it frail, dried-out, and vulnerable to crack, split, kink, and become damaged.

    Reply
  16. jim

    Hi Alorna,
    just wanted to mention that i haven’t used shampoo in over a decade and no one i know knows that i don’t. i was a student of your father’s (if Dale is your dad) and the late Luke Oas who taught painting back then introduced me to the idea. i also use no deodorant, shaving cream or laundry detergent and brush my teeth with baking soda.

    Reply
  17. Robert Burkholder

    You are a very wise lady. I was a hairstylist for 49 years and I don’t think that you are half that age and you have discovered these hair secrets at an early age? Look at all the money that you are saving? What you are saying is all so true. I discovered these truths about hair on the latter end of my career Baking soda and 4% peroxide together are a great product for toothpaste . Baking soda is a wonderful for body and mouth odors. Vinegar or lemon are great a hair rinse. for Damaged hair has raised the outer cuticle of the hair and vinegar closes it back up and the natural luster will re-appear. The next big question is your skin. Be just as particular about how you do that as well. I daily just rinse off under the shower and every 3 day I use a cleansing bar with the correct pH 4.5-5.5 . It has very little lather. I am going to try the baking soda to bathe with? I know already that it will work. Thanks for your time.

    Reply
  18. Anne

    I have dreadlocks.. I don’t think it can work on that right? Because you cannot rinse everything out? But i already wash my hair like once a week at most, and use only dr. bronner for shampoo.

    Reply
  19. Anna

    I did this for 8 weeks but my only problem with it was that if I ever wanted to style it in a way that needed product (hairspray, gel…) I felt like I had gunk in my hair for days! It felt like I had to start all over again and anyone who has tried this knows that the first couple weeks are the hardest…
    Also, I always mixed water and baking soda in a little bottle (not the spray kind) and poured it onto dry hair, let it sit a minute, then rinsed and that worked well for me.

    Reply
  20. .

    Actually. Unsaturated carbons are still just as “filled up”- their valence electron shells are still full. It’s Just that instead of single bonds between the carbons, they generally have two or three.

    Reply
  21. Claire

    I use essential oils to make my vinegar conditioner smell good. I have a nice bottle that I put it in and it takes like two capfulls to saturate my hair. It’s the best right after you color your hair.

    Reply
  22. Aaron Lennon - Paul Mitchel - Tee Tree shampoo user :)

    I really like my shampoo so I don’t think I will give it up. however, I like that you realize there is a place for shampoo in your new process. This to me proves you really prefer your new process and your goals are focused on living a better life and not sacrificing basic conveniences in life for the reason of writing about it or fitting in with a new church like I see so many times. Congrats!

    Reply
  23. Pingback: Hair: the bicarbonate of soda experiment | Bonnie Lisbeth

  24. Anna Liza Calvert

    My consultant ID# 3681 and I’ve been an Ava consultant for 2 years. For those who truly do their research will find that we offer completely safe products for you, family and home. I can honestly say when we say we have products that “are” natural, we can back it up. There is a website, http://www.ewg.org that was created years ago for consumers to find safer products. This site will rate the toxicity content in everything.

    Reply
  25. Caryn

    I was using baking soda wash and vinigar rinse on my 4 yr old son’s medium length hair until the public school where he attends pre K diagnosed him with lice and I had to drop everything and go pick him up. Then, I had to treat him with a lice treatment to get him back into school. I’m not even sure that he really had lice, but his scalp was flakey. I’m scaired to try the sham- free approach again. Advice?

    Reply
    1. Christal Eddleman

      I realize this is late lol but I wanted to say that I only wash my kids hair once a week with african black soap. Its amazing. Smells incredible. I got it at sprouts for eight dollars but their hair is sooooo shiny and fresh and beautiful. I wash our bodies with it and my face. I tried the no. Shampoo thing for a long time and tried countless recipes. My scalp itches to DEATH for weeks so I gave up. I plan on trying it again at some point but I only buy shampoo every six months.. and the african black soap comes in a large bottle with a pump. It smells wonderful. After I wash their hair, while its still damp, I put Moroccan oil in it and brush. I sometimes blow their hair dry( I went to beauty school) and I do the same to my hair only I use shampoo on mine because its colored. Just keep it simple.

      Reply
  26. Melodee

    Thank you so much for writing this article and sharing it! I was loosing my hair on the sides and could not understand why. I thought it was because I was reaching 40. I am a black 37 year old mom/wife and I was feeling so self conscious about the hair loss. My husband forwarded your article to me and at first I was skeptical. I decided I had to do something about my hair and decided to give it a try. After one week of using the baking soda and ACV, my hair grew back on the sides. I couldn’t believe it! It has been close to 4 months now and my hair is the healthiest it has ever been. I no longer use the ACV due to my hair not being dry anymore. My hair texture has changed for the better and I am truly loving it. I am a true believer that baking soda and ACV can be used on any hair type.

    Reply
  27. dobrajafairy

    Omg i just wet my hair in the shower and then worked baking soda in my hair into the scalp, because i know it works as an abrasive and peeling which ks perfect for flaky scalp to kill dandruff, remove dead skin and get rd of itchiness. I use it on my skin with honey and it works amazing!!

    Wow i was so surprised it works so beautiful, i didnt have ACV so i used regular whige vinegar. Capful in water and rinsed it out. I didnt find it diffiicult to wash out the baking soda, it felt rought to the touch ehich was a little scary becausr im used to the smoothness of the conditioner.

    I have highlights in my hair and i dnt wsnt to sttip off the natural goodness with harsh chemicals. So i love this method!

    Reply
  28. Pingback: I'm going to give up using shampoo...never again! Results are awesome.

  29. Pingback: » Why I’m breaking up with my boyfriend… and getting engaged to coconut oil love life more.

  30. Alice

    I used to have thick , straight, long , healthy hair almost 7 years ago.What I used was coconut oil and a good soap. People used to be jealous of my hair. Later I began using shampoo. Now I have frizzy, brittle, dull hair. I have dandruff and suffer hair fall.
    Well I suggest u all to avoid shampoo.They contain harmful chemicals. Now I have switched to my old way of washing hair. The results are awesome.Feels like my hair is reviving from a disaster..

    Reply
  31. thegibsongang5

    Hi! I have been doing this for about 3 months and absolutely love it! I’m writing a blogpost about my experience and plan on posting a link to your post. It’s because of your post I decided to make the switch. If it is a problem please let me know. Thanks!

    Reply
  32. Pingback: No Shampoo

  33. Thomas Shay

    I have a descent amount of dry skin on my face and head, and I have had this all of my life, even as a baby. I had bad dandruff and could not get rid of it even with two different dandruff shampoos. But the third shampoo worked excellently and whenever I try to switch shampoos I’ll just get the dandruff back, it’s not that my scalp and skin is adjusted to the shampoo, it’s just what works for me.
    My father is a chemical engineer and picked up his shampoo+conditioner men and shoulders shampoo, went through the ingredients one by one and laughed, it was as harmless as the wax that dribbles onto your birthday cake and the tiny bits of chemicals used as preservatives in food. The human body can safely and effectively digest and deal with these next to harmless chemicals. It’s too bad we aren’t vultures who can eat diseased dead animals and be A-Okay. Guys, it’s okay if you’re doing this for fun or to save money, but if you’re doing this because you’re scared of those chemicals then I pity you. If anything, by not exposing yourself to the harmless amounts of chemicals in your food and shampoo then you’re putting yourself at a higher risk when you encounter a large amount of those chemicals or chemicals of similar properties. The average person probably encounters FAR more chemicals than 50 years ago. Yet the average age expectancy went up about 5 years, sure many other things would affect age expectancy – such as new technologies, but even with the few chemicals we encounter, that ARE harmful – there are still no legitimate studies/experiments that directly link these common chemical exposures to a shortened life. Unless we’re talking about cigarettes. In the end, shampoo chemicals are hardly even worth mentioning, and aren’t worth worrying about.
    All I can expect in response from someone is how they found some study that some chemical in some shampoo brand has been proven to be unhealthy in large quantities or in any quantity. Preservatives are next to poisonous and we shouldn’t be eating any, but our bodies are capable of withstanding things in small quantities. In conclusion, if you can’t find a way to beat my argument with SOLID information then you’ll be realizing how shampoo is harmless. :) happy shampoo+conditioning. I have fluffy, soft hair I can easily style, no dandruff, and people touch my hair all the time “your hair is so soft!” Followed by an awkward petting.

    Reply
    1. justsarahg Post author

      It is a very common misconception to tell people “our bodies can handle _____ in small amounts”, because while that’s true, that statement is also implying a very subjective opinion that our bodies are, in fact, only getting small amounts of these things. Indeed, washing your hair once with shampoo won’t kill you. But that’s not the only substance your body is needing to filter out, and there’s NO mistake that lessening the load will give your body a healthy rest.

      Also, to your don’t-eat-preservatives comment, the skin absorbs 60% of what you put on it, including the scalp. All conventional toiletries contain preservatives, including multiple types of parabens, which there are many studies about. (There’s a reason brands are starting to boast that they don’t have any anymore.)

      There may not be studies done specifically on the chemical load in shampoos and shampooing, but there are plenty of studies out there on specific ingredients found in shampoo, which doesn’t take much to find.

      Your hair may be good, but it can be good without the cost, and without the health risks, too. :)

      Reply
  34. Cortney

    First I just want to say that this was a well written and very imformative post. And I agree with you on most of what you wrote except for the part about baking soda. It isnt really good for your hair. It is highly alkaline (pH of 8.3-9.0) which takes hair in the opposite direction, lifts cuticles, and causes hair to absorb too much water. Its also highly abrasive (it is a crystalline grain) which makes it excellent for cleaning stoves, buildings or teeth; it is used for degreasing machines and absorbing oils. And also, claims of commercial grade baking soda being natural is not true. It is man made in a factory. I was thinking of starting to wash my hair with baking soda instead of shampoo bc I recently started switching to mostly natural products until I did some research about baking soda/pH balance, etc… I actually learned all of this info on kimmaytube’s (natural hair/hair product guru) youtube channel. The exact video I viewed of hers talking about this very topic was called Structure of Hair part 3: Are you taking your hair on a pH rollercoaster ride? http://youtu.be/JAjZjecFPFg Its actually a 4 part series and its also very interesting and informative. Kimmaytube is awesome…very knowledgeable…and like yourself she also bases her findings on scientific proof and not opinions so check her out if you can :-) Take care

    Reply
    1. justsarahg Post author

      I agree that baking soda itself is very alkaline and potentially damaging to the hair, but that is why the ACV step is so important. I intend to write in a few edits soon to explain this, as people who use baking soda and but don’t use the vinegar will have a lot of trouble!

      Rest assured that the ACV does balance the hair’s pH after the baking soda step.

      Reply
  35. Jessica

    I’ve tried the baking soda and ACV, but found after rinsing (and rinsing and rinsing, we’re talking several minutes here) I still had baking soda in my hair. Have you heard this from anyone who tried the process? Thanks!

    Reply
  36. Patrick Ong

    Hi Sarah, I regret to say that I can’t barely understand your English. Could you please make it simple for me. If that’s okay for you? I’m not that good in English that’s why. How many times do you use the baking soda? and the vinegar is that after wash? Because I tried this but my hair becomes greasy and I think I did a mistake. Thank you for your consideration. :)

    Reply
  37. Lisa

    Me too, it’s just so long of a process. I just go online and buy organic shampoo and conditioner. I read the ingredients first! They smell better too, natural essential oils (lavender, eucalyptus, tea tree, etc.)

    Reply
  38. A. hofman

    I personally had trouble removing all the baking soda. My hair is thick and long…it tended to trap the baking soda. My mom whose hair is not as thick had better success. Do some online research and you can find ingredients to make your own shampoo. I took my list to a health food store with this intention and the owner showed to me a shampoo and conditioner that pretty much covered my ingredient list. I recommend that before u get to that stage do some more research online. While my hair was releasing silicone and all the other chemicals I needed to use things like sunlight dish soap to break up the static like grease. Three weeks of sticking with it though…the result was worth it!

    Reply
  39. bek

    I have not found success yet but heard that you should try using significantly less baking soda if you have trouble getting it out. I was surprised she said 1/3-1/2 a cup. Might want to do more like 2 Tablespoons to start.

    Reply
  40. april

    I have found that it works better and rinses easier if you mix it in a squirt bottle (like the kind for hair dye or condiments) with some water first rather than just putting the dry stuff in your hair.

    Reply
  41. Diana

    Hi Jessica.. Not sure what is ACV. But I am using only SODA (twice a week) for almost a year now and very happy…) So, all you need is to properly dissolve the soda in the water… So, you kind of washing your hair with a water..it will be very easy to rinse too.

    Reply
  42. Stephanie

    I dilute my baking soda. 1 tbs for one cup of water. Dissolve and slowly pour the solution over your hair. Work it through and rinse. The diluted solution makes it much easier to rinse out.

    Reply
  43. dawnofthenerds

    IT also really depends on what kind of water you have. I know that shampoo rinses out really easily at my aunt’s place but not as easily at my home because of the different mineral concentrations. Annoying, but perfectly normal.

    Reply
  44. nathanbuchanan

    If its the first time you do it it will take quite a while to get out but if you give it a few weeks it should be fine. Also, you should only clean your hair once a week at first then every two weeks. Just rinse it really well with water every day. Thats what I do and I have not washed it in over a year.

    Reply
  45. paisley beach

    mix a tablespoon of the baking soda with a cup of water and shake it up. This works better than putting straight BS on your hair and washes out easily, while still cleaning your hair in the same manner.

    Reply
  46. evalc

    Try dissolving the baking soda in hot water–stirring it into the hot water (one tbsp soda to every cup of water) and mix your vinegar/water (one to two tbsp to every cup of water) in a separate container. :)

    Reply
  47. Izzy

    Ann, I could be wrong (someone please correct me if i am) but Lemon juice has the potential to lighten your hair. Unless you want that result, it might be best to stick with the vinegar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

